Boards & Commissions

Spearfish Planning Commission

A seven member Planning Commission meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. at the Municipal Services Centre located at 625 Fifth St.  Planning Commission members are appointed by the Mayor and City Council, and are charged with the review of development applications for compliance with the Comprehensive Plan, city policy, and city code.  After careful review and consideration, the Planning Commission makes a recommendation to the City Council.

  1. Marlo Kapsa

    Planning Director

Serving on the Planning Commission are:
  • Greg Kruskamp, Chair - term ends on December 31, 2027
  • Meghan Byrum, Vice Chair - term ends on December 31, 2023
  • Toby Bordewyk - term ends on December 31, 2024
  • Bob Meyer - term ends on December 31, 2024
  • Larry Vavruska - term ends on December 31, 2023
  • Rick Tysdal - term ends on December 31, 2025
  • Amy Davision - term ends on December 31, 2024

Board of Adjustment

South Dakota law requires every municipality with zoning regulations to provide for a Board of Adjustment to hear and decide appeals of zoning  administrative decisions, conditional use permits, and grant variances.  The Board of Adjustment is not a legislative body.  Instead, its functions are quasi-judicial in nature, which require the Board to operate under special rules and procedures. 

The Spearfish Board of Adjustment is comprised of the Mayor, who acts as the chairperson, and the members of the City Council.  In the event the mayor or a member of the City Council is unable to participate, two alternates  are available to sit in the absent member’s place.  Board of Adjustment meetings are called as-needed and are open to the public.